13
Jun
08

Long live Mario Paint!

Ok, I think I’ve established that I’m an art geek in previous blogs, right? Right. I got to wondering the other day why Nintendo hadn’t released a painting game for the Wii yet. Given the Wii’s motion sensing controls, I thought a paintbrush controller and painting game would be pretty full of awesome.

Think Bob Ross meets Mario. “Let’s paint a happy little tree here next to the smiling mushroom…” *dab dab dab*

That reminded me of the old-school Mario Paint game (SNES) that also let you create little tunes. Well, lo-n-behold, Mario Paint is still alive and kickin’! Leave it to creative musical minds to recreate today’s greatest hits [/end casey casem voice] in Mario Paint bleeps and bloops! Needless to say, I couldn’t stop laughing when I heard some of them. I mean, I like me some Fiddy, but In Da’ Club Mario-style? Ha! Coldplay’s Clocks a’la Nintendo anyone? Too funny.

Goes to show how some games are timeless. Sure, the midi-sound tunes can’t compete with Guitar Hero or Rock Band, but you have to give Mario Paint Maestros credit. The game is nearly 20 years old!

3 Responses to “Long live Mario Paint!”


  1. 1 mabooza
    June 13, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    Ah, Mario Paint. I think I still have it…and the mouse. I wonder if my sister’s awesome disco tune/animation is still saved on the cart? It would be a shame if that little masterpiece was lost forever.

  2. 2 Chimpancrazy
    June 16, 2008 at 9:17 am

    I remember using Mario Paint for a class presentation in high school. A friend and I spent literally all day animating a car running into a brick wall and a stick-figure dude flying through the windshield covered in airbrushed blood splatters (to remind folks to wear their seat belts). To transfer it to video tape, we set up a camcorder in front of her parent’s big screen TV. It was brilliant.

  3. 3 Kate
    June 19, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Mario Paint! I loved Mario Paint! I even liked the game where you practiced using a mouse by swatting at flies, which is a little strange. Chimpancrazy, I am very impressed with your animating abilities…I never had the patience to do something like that!


Leave a Reply

