20
Apr
08

Don’t Judge me!

Alright, so I’ve been hooked on one of those ‘gem’ games for a while now. I’m talkin’ like four or five months here. When it was released, I was hooked on Xbox 360 Achievements, so I didn’t give a new PS3 game a second thought. After reading a few reviews, however, I decided that this would be the game that made me *gasp* try out a Collectable Card Game!

See, you have to understand this about me. I’m a snob. I’ve always thought that Collectable Card Games (CCGs for those in the know) like PokeMon, YuGiOh, and Magic were for geeks. Well, a different breed of geek than myself at least. Now, before you reach out for the rotten cabbage and squishy tomatoes…. tomatos?… tow-may-toes, hear me out. I don’t have anything against CCGs, I just always had the impression that they were too hard to keep up with and too inconvenient to play. I mean, after all, if you don’t know someone that also plays the game and lives next door, then you’re S.O.L. right?

Anyhow, The Eye of Judgment fixed all that. Not only is it immediately accessible, but I automatically got tens of thousands of people to play against online. So I gave it a shot. Here I am, months later, pockets empty, and several hundred online battles later blogging about it. That’s gotta’ say something about it, no?

I’m not entirely sure that I have a point, really. Truth be told, I just really like the game. It doesn’t have a story mode. It doesn’t have any secrets or awesome unlockables (the only thing you unlock are more cards to play against) and the soundtrack is total crap, but I found that it really embodies the spirit of one on one competition moreso than any other online game I’ve ever played. You can’t glitch yourself to victory and you rarely, if ever, get the racial slurs and homophobic expletives mentioned in a previous blog here (so true by the way!). It really boils down to battling different people in one on one matches to see who’s got the skills to pay the bills.

I didn’t realize just how much I missed that type of competition. Sadly, I can’t remember the last time I played an online MP game and enjoyed it the way I do an EoJ battle.

All that being said, I highly suggest it. If you were a skeptic like me, give it a go. You’ll find that the spirit of competitive gaming doesn’t live only in team deathmatch or capture the flag. It’s alive and well on the nine fields of the Eye of Judgment.

0 Responses to “Don’t Judge me!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

