11
Apr
08

Hello, my name is Nando, and I’m a binge gamer

I’m a strange breed of gamer. Most gamers I know are constantly playing one title or another. They’ll burn through title A and finish just in time for title B to come out. Other gamers will play one title for years before they’re ready to move on. And when they do move on, they graduate to their game of choice’s sequel. Halo(s), anyone?

Me? I fall somewhere inbetween. I can get into a game heavily for a month or two then not lift a controller for months. I rarely, if ever, anticipate big titles and I don’t often fall in love with those “charming” niche titles that everyone else seems to adore.(Though I do reserve the right to gush about how much I’m looking forward to Mario Kart for the Wii. There are a few big titles that still draw out the arm-smacking game junkie in me.)

I’m somewhere in the middle. Maybe I’m a binge gamer?

Case in point: I played Marvel Ultimate Alliance to death, yet still never unlocked every Achievement. I played Guitar Hero(s) til my fingertips blistered (not literally, sickos) and my joints cramped (yes, literally) and I still can’t play Free Bird on Expert. Actually, that’s a bad example. Free Bird on Expert should have its own 1000 point Achievement and unlock a kickass medal that you can wear out to get groceries… and then the medal gives you a discount on bandaids that are specifically designed for fingertips. You know, the ones with that weird diaper shape to them? Anyhow, my point is this: I’m not a typical gamer.

bloodyfingers2.jpg

*bloop* Achievement Unlocked  Woo hoo!

Sometimes I blame it on my job. After all, how could I possibly play games hardcore during my free time, when I play games hardcore as a career? That’d be like a ninja coming home after a long day of ninjing and using his sword to make a sandwich. Wait… what? Nevermind. Other times I blame it on a lack of titles I’d like to play. Because BioShock, Mass Effect, and Rock Band are just so full of suck. (/sarcasm!) Regardless, I always have one excuse or another when I don’t play games. The beautiful thing is that when one of those rare, irresistable games comes along, those same excuses serve me well.

“How could I not play BioShock? It’s frakkin’ amazing!” or “Come on, babe. I could either do the singing while we’re in the car and get no points or I can sing into my platsic mic under my stage name Eddie Better and score some major pointage. Decide.”

A few months ago I came across one such game that has sucked hours upon hours from my days and lightened my wallet quite a bit… No, I’m not talking about WoW.

 

(to be continued)

 


0 Responses to “Hello, my name is Nando, and I’m a binge gamer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

