Archive for October 5th, 2008

05
Oct
08

Goodbye Africa. Hello Zombie Apocalypse!

It’s time to say farewell to Far Cry 2….at least until the game releases in a few weeks. The guide went to print on Friday, and we’re all breathing a short-lived sigh of relief. I’m very pleased with what we accomplished. Most importantly, the team at Ubisoft likes it and helped us make it even better by providing some last-minute updates and additions, including the locations of some very cool (and rare) collectibles. Overall, the Far Cry 2 team gave us amazing support during this project, from the minute we showed up at their office, to the last few minutes before the guide went to print. Although I’ve played through the entire game, I can’t wait to give it another run when it releases. But that will have to wait.

Tomorrow (Monday) I leave for Valve in Bellevue, WA for a 5-day Left 4 Dead crash-course survival training session. This is a game I’ve been eyeing since it was announced a couple of years ago. The prospect of fighting through a class-3 zombie outbreak sounds like a fun. But doing it in co-op with up to three friends sounds like an absolute blast. Plus, the zombie/post-apocalyptic genre has always been a favorite of mine. In preparation, I think I’ll go through some of my favorite George A. Romero movies tonight. And I’m definitely taking Max Brooks’ books (The Zombie Survival Guide and World War Z) with me on the plane…even though I’ve read them several times. Anyway, I’ll try to post an entry from the road to let you all know how the game looks and whether my knowledge of fighting off the infected has paid off. If all I say in my next post is, “BRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAINS!”, you’ll know something tragic has transpired.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.