Archive for August 14th, 2008

14
Aug
08

Que?

I’ve now worked on two Viva Pinata guides and played the first game rather intensely for a period of a couple of months. I did well, attracted many fun papier machie beasties, and made the lives of unseen virtual children joyous with deliveries of candy-filled whack-a-creatures to bring sugar-fueled happiness to their unseen virtual parties.

Yet I’m still utterly baffled as to how anyone in this world thought up the premise for the game. I mean, how did they pitch it?

“OK, here’s the idea…living pinatas.”

Would you have green-lighted such an enterprise? I would’ve given it some seriously raised eyebrows. It sounds ludicrious. I have trouble explaining it to my friends and family. (“No, you don’t build pinatas, you raise them…yes, like a farm animal.”).

And yet, here we are and the game is a great time. I’m not one for the cutsey, cartoon spawning, collection games but I was enthralled for hours upon hours. Apparently, when it comes to the animate pinatas, I’m a 12 year old girl, delighted when I attracted a Chewnicorn.

The next installment that we’re doing a guide for now is Trouble in Paradise. New animals, funny names, new Garden items and textures. Good times. Pinata times…

14
Aug
08

Too Human Author Gameplay Tips

Ten tips from the man who wrote the book, David Knight:

Combo Meter Growth

Combo Meter Growth

1. Combo meter growth is based on hitting and killing enemies. But you can gain higher combo growth by killing enemies in the air, performing consecutive slide attacks, killing light polarities with a fierce attacks,or killing dark polarities with finishers. Increasing combo levels results in bonus experience, dramatically faster slide speeds, increased slide distance, bonus slide damage, and increased rate of fire for your guns. Combo levels also are required to initiate ruiner attacks and battle cries.
Continue reading ‘Too Human Author Gameplay Tips’




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.